Head Lines
  • Telangana Assembly passes TSRTC merger Bill
  • 'Money Heist'-Inspired Cyber Criminals Arrested For Conning Noida Businessman
  • SC to monitor cases of crime against women in Manipur
  • Veg thali cost surges 28% in July amid soaring food prices
  • IIM Lucknow launches executive programme in AI for Business
  • Govt to open research park at top educational institutions to promote science & tech
  • US to send Ukraine first $200 million of arms freed by $6.2 billion 'error'
  • Reliance Retail says it is set to lead the retail industry in the coming decade
  • Karnataka High Court accepts petition challenging provisions of Real Estate Regulatory Act
  • ‘I’m doing this for Pewdiepie’: MrBeast challenges T-Series, will fight to become YouTuber with maximum subscribers

POINT COMFORT– Formosa Plastics Religious Trust Fund 2022 Grants totaling $30,700 were distributed to 23 separate religious-based organizations on Dec. 9 during a luncheon at the Formosa Plastics Guest House in Point Comfort.

The trust fund has been in place for 27 years and provides grants to religious organizations in Calhoun, Jackson, and Victoria counties. The Formosa Plastics Religious Trust was established in 1995 by Formosa’s Chairman Y.C. Wang, with a $1 million gift.

He directed that income from the trust be used to promote religion and religious activities in these counties.

Since its inception, and including the recent awards, the trust has distributed a total of $1,244,532 to support religious projects in the three counties.

Formosa Religious Trust Fund 2022 Grant Recipients:

• Patricia Thomas, Shiloh Missionary Baptist Church, Jackson County.

• Rhonda Cummins, Point Comfort Seafarers Center, Calhoun County.

• Catherine Key, Victoria Christian School, Victoria County.

• Rachel Fuller, First Assembly of God Church, Edna, Jackson County.

• Walter Ford, New Wine Fellowship, Victoria County.

• Sister Theresa Vu, Our Lady of the Gulf Catholic School, Calhoun County.

• April Snyder, Six Mile Assembly of God Church, Calhoun County.

• Victoria Tyson, First United Methodist Church, Seadrift, Calhoun County.

• Cristal Freudensprung, Calhoun County Community Ministries, Calhoun County.

• Pam Dry, Experience Excellence, Victoria County.


• Paul Kaiser, St. Paul Lutheran Church, Jackson County.

• Kevin Liu, Port Lavaca Branch of Texas Buddhist Association, Calhoun County.

• Kelli Williamson, First United Methodist Church, Edna, Jackson County.

• Art Miller, First Baptist Church, Edna, Jackson County.

• Jennifer Storz, First United Methodist Church, Edna, Jackson County.

• Kelly Lockey, Elijah’s Tree, Calhoun County.

• Shirley Harkey, First Baptist Church, Port Lavaca, Calhoun County.

• Bill Moore, First Baptist Church, Port O’Connor, Calhoun County.

• Christopher Meir, First Baptist Church, Lolita, Jackson County.

• Shannon Jones, Vanderbilt Baptist Church, Jackson County.

• Ryan Nelson, Baptist Temple Church, Edna, Jackson County.

• George Liu, Awakening Mind Chan Center, Calhoun County.

• Joel Flores, Calhoun County Community Ministries, Calhoun County.

If anyone is interested in applying for a grant from the Formosa Religious Trust Fund, information can be obtained from First National Bank Vice President and Trust Officer Bobby Meeks at 361-552-6726 or BMeeks@fnbportlavaca.com. Applications for religious grants should be submitted to Bobby Meeks at First National Bank, P. O. Drawer 7, Port Lavaca, Texas 77979-0007.


No Comments Till Now.

Write Your Story